Author Topic: Need help on thesis(Final assignment) subject: Inverted pendulum control  (Read 2422 times)

Offline JDeruyterTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Hello!

My name is Jelle Deruyter, i'm a last year electrotechnical engineer student from Belgium and I'm currently doing an erasmus programme in Hungary, Miskolc.
During this programme I have to do my final assignment on designing the power interface for an the inverted pendulum. (http://www.ict.com.tw/AI/Amira/amira/lframe_e.htm)
There used to be a actuator for this lab expirement but somehow they lost this (dont ask me how this is possible). I only have to design a power interface for this in order to be able to control this system by a microcontroller, pc or plc.

The problem is that my studies where more focussed on energy/high voltage subjects and so I only have the basics of electronics. But at the start of the semester I thought I was goeing to be able to do this thesis. So I started with a literature study of all the components, their voltage requirements, the input output signals etcetera.

But now I have to design the power interface for this. And I really have no idea on how to get started. I started reading things on the internet and ended up on this site. I read a lot of helpfull things here and I start to understand more and more about control/robotic engineering but I'm still a big noob.
I am not asking you guys (and girls) to design this power interface for me, I just hoped that some one could explain me how to get started with this. I learn fast, so once some one helpes me a little bit I think I can finish this by myself.

Maybe the following information can help to understand what I have to build. In this system there are;
- 2 incremental encoders used to measure the position of the chart and the angle of the pendulum. They need 5V DC Supply and have a 5V analoge output.
- 2 proximity switches that require a supply voltage of 15V, the output signal is an analog 11mA signal.