Author Topic: using "ground" in a circuit  (Read 3761 times)

Offline chacho5Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
using "ground" in a circuit
« on: February 26, 2008, 08:14:19 PM »
hello, I am just beginning in making robots, and there is a lot that I don't understand. But most importantly, what does it mean when a tutoral says that a wire should go to "ground"?  ??? I am making an obstacle avoiding robot using two sharp ir sensors (GP2D120), and it says that the black wire should lead to ground, and I have no idea what this means. I know that this sounds like a dumb question, but I just don't get it!

Also, I want to make my robot without having to buy a microprossesor. I was thinking about having the output voltage from the sensor go to the opposite motor to reverse the current and reverse the way the motor spins, but I don't know how that would work either. Any ideas? Help would be greatly appreciated!

Offline ed1380

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3
Re: using "ground" in a circuit
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2008, 08:32:37 PM »
ground is the negative terminal on the battery. everything "ground" connects to it.

this is what you're probably talking about http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/59
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 06:49:09 AM »
Thanks a lot! Sorry I didn't see that in the tutorials!
So anyway I'm using that sharp ir rangefinder, so does the Vcc connect to the positive part of the battery? And how can I get current from the sensor when it detects something to go to a motor and cause it to spin?
Thanks again!

Offline airman00

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
    • Narobo.com - Mechatronics and related
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2008, 07:22:18 AM »
you need to do ADC to get the reading of the sensor

Vcc does get positive