Author Topic: PaPeRo Japanese Robot  (Read 1823 times)

Offline ninjawolfTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
PaPeRo Japanese Robot
« on: February 13, 2011, 01:26:03 AM »
If you've seen the PaPeRo robot, i need he'll. If you haven't, and know a lot about robots, then go search for it on youtube and stuff.
Anyway, since they're not currently selling it for some reason, i was wondering: if you were going to buid your own version of it for the cheap, how would you do so?
I'm totally willing to sacrifice a few unneeded features (LEDs and the like).
Please nothing like "if i was gonna? I wouldn't" or "it'd be too hard." I'm just asking how WOULD you.
Also, i'm new to robotics but know computers. The more detail and information the better.
Thank you all in advance.

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: PaPeRo Japanese Robot
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2011, 06:06:07 AM »
If You need help from others, the least thing to do is to post a link to a robot You are talking about:

NEC PaPeRo - Cute japanese Robot singing

If I was going to build one I would start researching the robot first to find out what it is capable of. After that, I would look for parts that can accomplish same tasks (as researched before). Finally I would put those parts together and program the robot.
"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian W

Offline ninjawolfTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2011, 01:47:51 PM »
Thanks, that does make sense. Here's a link to all the robot specs.
http://www.nec.co.jp/products/robot/en/specifications/index.html
So what are some things you know can replace some of those things? Also, how would you progam it? I only know a little HTML lol, so what language, not just for this, but robots in general?