Author Topic: Collecting parts  (Read 1974 times)

Offline KillerwolfbotTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Collecting parts
« on: February 15, 2011, 08:13:53 PM »
Hello, I'm fairly new to the wonderful world of robotics. I would like to start a collection of usefull parts. Being new to robotics I should probably ask as many questions as I can so here goes.

How do you feel abot junk parts? I know alot of people don't like them but why waste? I have an old Verizon evny 2 phone. Is it worth taking apart for the screen, camera or anything else? Also what if i had an old desktop computer, what parts could come from that? Is it worth pulling a microcontroler from a VCR or am I better off buying a new one?

What would be the best parts to collect?

The main reason I want to start collecting parts is I want to build a fully atonamas humanoid robot maybe 4-5 feet tall, capable of speach, you know the good stuff. But I know a project like that is way out of my leage and even f I was capable, would still take time to do. So I'm starting small, collecting parts and bidding my time. Any help, comments or questons would be helpful.

Offline macdad-

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 5
    • LoneWolf's Circuits
Re: Collecting parts
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2011, 08:46:23 PM »
Your Verizon phone might not yeild much as far as accessable components. You should definitely be able to salvage the battery and the screen *might* be somewhat close to industry standard.

Your old desktop computer will just break the bank, it'll be loaded with motors(CD/DVD Drives, Hard Drives), semiconductors(Some of the smaller chips you may be able to use), passive components, the works..  ;D

The VCR is even better! Depending upon its age of course, the newer electronics sometimes have custom chips that have no public datasheets.  ::)