Society of Robots - Robot Forum

General Misc => Misc => Topic started by: offy on March 21, 2009, 08:41:31 AM

Title: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: offy on March 21, 2009, 08:41:31 AM
I was looking around and I found some DC Motors with 3-4-5 cables coming out of them, instead of just power, and ground. I was wondering if these need a motor controller?

Also do they make motors that can plug right into a PWM on a microcontroller so I don't need to buy extra parts?
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: Razor Concepts on March 21, 2009, 09:08:30 AM
Those are probably stepper motors or brushless motors, not DC motors. If you can, link us to the ones you found.

Seriously get your hands on some female breakaway headers, you will not get far into robotics without standard connectors like those. It's like trying to knit without yarn. There are even sites that offer those for free samples.
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: offy on March 21, 2009, 09:20:58 AM
Seriously get your hands on some female breakaway headers, you will not get far into robotics without standard connectors like those. It's like trying to knit without yarn. There are even sites that offer those for free samples.
Are hi-tec headers female headers? They have 3 holes in them to plug into a board...

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/ACM-336/MINIATURE-3.6-RPM-AC-GEAR-MOTOR/1.html (http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/ACM-336/MINIATURE-3.6-RPM-AC-GEAR-MOTOR/1.html)

these are stepper.
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store/uh_listCategoriesAndProducts.asp?idCategory=221 (http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store/uh_listCategoriesAndProducts.asp?idCategory=221)
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: Razor Concepts on March 21, 2009, 09:22:29 AM
Basically the same. You can get the female headers in varying lengths, use clippers to cut them down to 3 (or however many you need)
(http://www.fu-yao.com.tw/Product-2004427144952-2.jpg)

The motor you linked is AC, not DC.
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: madchimp on March 21, 2009, 09:23:40 AM
MINIATURE 3.6 RPM AC GEAR MOTOR

nope not DC
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: offy on March 21, 2009, 09:27:04 AM
Why can't I just use a molex connector? They plug into the pins on my board.
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: chelmi on March 21, 2009, 09:28:15 AM
Seriously get your hands on some female breakaway headers, you will not get far into robotics without standard connectors like those. It's like trying to knit without yarn. There are even sites that offer those for free samples.
Are hi-tec headers female headers? They have 3 holes in them to plug into a board...

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/ACM-336/MINIATURE-3.6-RPM-AC-GEAR-MOTOR/1.html (http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/ACM-336/MINIATURE-3.6-RPM-AC-GEAR-MOTOR/1.html)

these are stepper.
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store/uh_listCategoriesAndProducts.asp?idCategory=221 (http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store/uh_listCategoriesAndProducts.asp?idCategory=221)

1. I don't see any Hitech connector on this.
2. This is an AC motor, not DC.
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: offy on March 21, 2009, 09:29:26 AM
Can stepper motors go into a molex connector and than connect right into roboduino?

Do they make motors with hi-tec headers on them to go into microcontrollers?
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: Razor Concepts on March 21, 2009, 09:31:50 AM
Why can't I just use a molex connector? They plug into the pins on my board.

Molex connectors are more expensive, you can't get them for free as far as I know.

They do not sell motors with female headers that go in to the microcontroller. You have to attach them yourself - just get some FREE female breakaway headers and solder them on your self.
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: offy on March 21, 2009, 09:34:08 AM
Would a normal DC motor and a motor controller be better to use?
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: SmAsH on March 21, 2009, 05:11:06 PM
do you have anything against servos? a servo is generally cheaper and has a built in motor driver and gearbox. in my opinion a normal dc motor with a motor controller would not be easier to use:
1: it takes up more space
2: it doesnt have a gearbox so it will zoom away when you turn it on :)
3: it will just get plain annoying once you have a few of them hooked up.
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: offy on March 21, 2009, 08:08:26 PM
I am sticking with servos. I did some research, and servos have the same torque and speed as DC motors.
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: SmAsH on March 21, 2009, 08:09:47 PM
do you mean with a gear setup?
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: offy on March 21, 2009, 08:34:56 PM
With a gear setup. the HS-311 servo goes around 52 RPM and has 42 0z/in torque. All the DC motors I saw (around $15) were this also, than I would have needed to buy a $50 motor controller.
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: Trumpkin on March 22, 2009, 03:28:35 PM
DC gear motors are usually around $7 and the motor controller (if you build you own) is around $2.
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: dellagd on March 22, 2009, 06:19:48 PM
where would I find these free female headers?
Title: Re: DC Motor with hitec header?
Post by: Razor Concepts on March 22, 2009, 06:49:29 PM
millmax or samtec