go away spammer

Author Topic: Need Help with a Rear Wheel Drive Car Style Robot  (Read 2173 times)

Offline SchlayerTopic starter

• Helpful? 3
Need Help with a Rear Wheel Drive Car Style Robot
« on: December 01, 2014, 11:51:26 AM »
I am a high school student who has long been interested in and involved with robotics and similar projects, and I've been working on building a robot with a car-style two wheel steering, but I've hit a bit of a roadblock. To keep complexity low I'm trying to get away with using either very simple or no suspension, and I cannot think of a great way to mount my motor/rear Axel shaft such that it can survive vibrations without causing damage to my gears or motor.
I am planning on running a 4.5:1 or 5:1 gear ratio, pinion and spur directly meshed together with the spur on my rear Axel (a 3/8" thick solid steel shaft) and my motor is a pretty powerful 545 can from Banebots. It will be driving my robot really fast and with considerable torque, theoretically my robot should be able to get over 30mph easily. I have access to hose clamps, HDPE sheets that are 3/8" thick, some 1/4" Lexand, 1/8" plexiglass, and a lot of aluminum L brackets, flat bars, and square tubes. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
I have only hand operated power tools to work with BTW, but I can easily cut plastic and aluminum with my dremel and I have a nice high torque drill, plus soldering equipment and a blowtorch. I have access to plenty of fasteners and misc. materials as well, and can purchase anything cheap and readily available online/in hobby or hardware stores.