Author Topic: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?  (Read 3796 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SeagullOneTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 248
  • Helpful? 0
  • Humans and Robots working together for our future.
    • Loren John Presley - Author, Artist, Roboteer
Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« on: July 12, 2009, 01:55:17 PM »
Hi,

I'm considering having my robot NINA run off of Windows 7 on the on board laptop!

Has anyone tried Windows 7 with programs such as roborealm or Open Source Computer Vision Library? What about speech recognition and voice synthesis?

Thanks in advance!
I think the chauffeur did it.

.......

He did.

Offline zozie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 05:36:49 PM »
Speech recognition works like a charm on 7. It has pretty low hardware requirements as well so it will be ok on any machine.  Open CV will also work fine.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,702
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2009, 01:36:13 PM »
It has pretty low hardware requirements as well so it will be ok on any machine.
Windows 7 or the speech recognition software?

My understanding is Windows 7 still has higher requirements than XP.

AVR Studio tends to have OS issues with every new Windows OS release/version . . .

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
    • Nerdcore - Programming, Electronics, Mechanics
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2009, 10:26:47 AM »
Tomorrow is the day.....Has anyone tested robotics softwares on windows 7rc ?

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2009, 04:45:43 AM »
It has pretty low hardware requirements as well so it will be ok on any machine.
Windows 7 or the speech recognition software?

My understanding is Windows 7 still has higher requirements than XP.
I thought windows 7 had lower requirements than xp?
I know it runs wayyy smoother than vista ;D
Howdy

Offline parallax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Helpful? 1
    • christopherconley.net
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2009, 07:55:08 AM »
Well, not quite. Windows XP will run on a Pentium 233Mhz  ;) Remember how old it is and what kind of hardware was available at the time. I was still playing the original Quake online when it came out!

Windows 7 has comparable if not marginally better system requirements than Vista. Vista's recommended requirements might as well be its minimum. Ever try doing anything with Vista on a near-spec machine? Ugggghhhhh.... gives me chills. I have been running Windows 7 for a few weeks now because it's been available to my college via the MSDNAA. My main find is that it is far less resource intensive. Good stuff! Haven't done any robotics work on that machine. To be honest it hadn't occurred to me for some reason. That will change though! Just for reference though:

Windows 7 System Requirements:
http://windows.microsoft.com/systemrequirements

Windows Vista System Requirements:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-vista/get/system-requirements.aspx

Windows XP System Requirements:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314865
"Less than a drop of blood in me remains that does not tremble;
I recognize the signals of the ancient flame"

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
    • Nerdcore - Programming, Electronics, Mechanics
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2009, 12:19:08 PM »
Students can get Windows 7 for $29.99 if not through MSDN.

http://win741.com/



Anybody tried AVR Studio and other AVR software on it?

Offline offy

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2009, 05:32:33 PM »
I would wait a while until switching. Since new OS's usually have lots of bugs that make you go in circles. Wait until it gets more stable.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2009, 01:27:32 AM »
One of my mates has been running windows 7 ultimate for a few weeks and he has said he hasn't found any bugs, it runs like a dream (extremely fast) and its just down right better than vista and xp.
Howdy

Offline Brandon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2009, 05:04:13 AM »
I would wait a while until switching. Since new OS's usually have lots of bugs that make you go in circles. Wait until it gets more stable.

No need to wait. Windows 7 is essentially a tweaked Vista. Been running it for about 2 months at work and it's a fantastic OS.
Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.
Sir Winston Churchill

Offline awally88

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 212
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2009, 10:44:21 PM »
There shouldn't be the troubles with upgrading vista->win7 as there was with xp->vista as the driver/hardware support is effectively the same in 7 as in vista.

win 7 doesn't support 16 bit applications so installing some programs might not work if they use a 16 bit rather than 32 bit installer (Happens more than you think!)

Offline parallax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Helpful? 1
    • christopherconley.net
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2009, 04:18:14 PM »
For that particular problem, running a virtual machine is a godsend!  ;) I use a lot of older applications (and like a lot of older games... MW2 anyone?  ;D) so it's a regular solution for me. But I digress- getting off topic here. 
"Less than a drop of blood in me remains that does not tremble;
I recognize the signals of the ancient flame"

Offline elwishtwo

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Anyone tried Windows 7 for robots?
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2020, 11:21:28 AM »
I have downloaded the community edition but unable to install it. It’s asking for the .net framework. I tried installing the .net framework 4.5 / 4.6. None of them are getting installed on my system which is windows 7 . Have Installed SP1 as well. Could you please support me about what is to be done next.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list