go away spammer

Author Topic: $50 robot Battery - please help  (Read 4483 times)

Offline Metal Slug 2Topic starter

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 11
$50 robot Battery - please help
« on: November 15, 2008, 12:41:08 AM »
Hey, I'm completely new to robotics yet completely fascinated by them.  i came across this website via a google search 5 days ago.
i found the $50 robot tutorial and read alot of other forum posts/tutorials.  i filled up my shopping cart(s) from the different websites which were given to where i should get the parts. everything is/was good until the battery.
The recommended battery in the $50 robot is a 6v, 1400mah NiMH battery pack from onlybatterypacks.com selling for $16.50.  this battery had a product code of 10403.
however, when i searched the site for this battery it came up as a 6v, 1700mah NiMH battery pack with a price of $22.50

I couldn't find any battery that matched the description given in the tutorial.  not a problem though. i just decided to get the $22.50 battery.

when i went to checkout, under the item description/quantity/name etc. there was also a section for "connectors".  now for the question(s):

1.)  Do I have to choose a specific connector, if yes which one? or does the battery already come with a default connector?

2.)  How do i recharge the battery?  Do i have to buy a separate charger?

3.)  i never actually bought the battery because the shipping costs came to $25.00!!!!!!!  therefore the total battery cost would be ~$50 which is supposed to be the cost for the whole robot! bah!  and there was only one shipping option.  is there any way to get cheaper shipping? :'(

Thanks for your help.

sorry if these question are noobish.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2008, 07:21:58 PM by Metal Slug 2 »

Offline ArcMan

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: $50 robot Battery help
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2008, 10:33:59 AM »