Author Topic: 3 wheel vs. 4 wheel, 2 motors vs. 3 motors,  (Read 3781 times)

Offline gkiverm123Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
3 wheel vs. 4 wheel, 2 motors vs. 3 motors,
« on: November 17, 2014, 04:58:38 PM »
Hello all,

1) I'm just getting started with robotics and am building a sumo bot. I plan to use a differential steering system. Now I'm unsure whether to use an arrangement with 3 wheel or 4 wheels. I found this link http://www.robotshop.com/blog/en/what-wheels-should-my-robot-use-3654 very helpful, but it doesn't really explain which one would be better for speed or torque, etc. 

2) The other thing I was thinking was, if I do go with 3 wheels, would it make sense to have the third upper wheel (that doesn't have a pair) also motorized? So, basically, each wheel would be connected to a motor. The two backs ones would be used for steering and forward/backward movement. The upper wheel would only help in moving forward/backward.

Thank you!

Offline Schlayer

• Helpful? 3
Re: 3 wheel vs. 4 wheel, 2 motors vs. 3 motors,
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2014, 11:59:34 AM »
For a first robot, I would recommend you definitely use differential drive and not go for 4 wheels. A sumo bot will need its powered wheels to be centered under as much of the robot's mass as possible for maximum traction; you might actually only want two wheels! You also would't want to add a third motor in any case, as the benefit would be minimal compared with the added complexity in your code for moving the robot. I have worked on a sumo robot project which ended up using two motors, one wheel each, and the front was just a super-sharp wedge that got underneath enemy robots and scooped them up so they lost traction. (That was radio controlled though.) If you need anything else, let me know.

Offline jimujan

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2014, 06:53:14 AM »