Author Topic: first robot help  (Read 1327 times)

Offline mrjameslatTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
first robot help
« on: January 24, 2011, 04:52:40 PM »
Hey,
I'm thinking about making my first robot and (obviously) I never made one before.
What I want to do is mount a pvc spring cannon onto a tilt with a laser pointer, and a MaxSonar (or type of rangefinder that's good for about 10 meters) and hook them all up to a microprocessor and connect that to my laptop so I can raise/lower the tilt with my computer and tell how far away the target is.

I never tried any of these things before,  so I was wondering how to do this, or even if it was realistic for a first timer.
Like our their tutorials out there for first timers with connecting parts and making it work?

Whats the most well documented (and economical) microprocessor that I can use for this  project?

Also know of any sites that offer very decent rates on parts?
(as a side note i'm an alright computer programmer)

Thanks a lot!
-James

Offline Hawaii00000

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 2
Re: first robot help
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2011, 06:41:26 PM »
Hey James, welcome to the forum! Sounds like a good project to start with.

I recommend you buy an Arduino, and tilt the cannon using servos or motors (depending on how heavy your cannon is). The Arduino can process the data from the MaxSonar and control the servos. The computer can send instructions to the turret (up, down, left, right etc.), and give you distance feedback through serial.

Here's the Arduino site: http://www.arduino.cc/
An some info about Arduino and serial library: http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/Serial

Your biggest problem will be the cannon weight- the lighter the better.
"God chose to make the world according to very beautiful mathematics."
-Paul Dirac
Its Hawaii Five-O. Get it?

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2011, 09:01:38 PM »