Author Topic: Electric bicycle  (Read 8243 times)

Offline newbie_teachTopic starter

• Helpful? 2
Electric bicycle
« on: January 10, 2015, 12:10:01 PM »
Hi,
To start off with, my aim is to build an electric bicycle.
I am a complete noob in these things,My questions are very basic and may seem very dumb but please be generous enough to answer.
Now questions,
1) I need to select a motor. I am complete newbie in the theory of these motors,like when we go super high amount of torque (200Kgcm in my case) the motor specifications change to power(hp) instead of torque and rpm. IN normal small robotic applications the motor which I buy has it's torque and rpm specs and not power.But in this case the motors are rated in terms of power.So how shall I calculate the torque and rpm.
Other question I had is, If a motor is rated at 12V 5A, and i provide a battery with 12V,10AH will it blow up the motor,or the motor will take its required 5A and work for 2hours?
For that matter any electric device, will it act same like,if we provide more current through the battery then the device wants,then it will take how much it requires instead of blowing up?

Offline SeekingVision

• Helpful? 0
Re: Electric bicycle
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2015, 10:36:16 AM »
The conversion of units can be done by googling the question. The situation postulated will indeed let the motor run for 2 hours all things being equal and in a perfect world, ie... No frictional losses and constant energy expenditure at an even amount.
Robots are our children and will inherit the Earth.

Offline Schlayer

• Helpful? 3
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2015, 09:25:44 AM »