go away spammer

Author Topic: Building first robot, need help getting started  (Read 11820 times)

Offline Nastybutler187Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Building first robot, need help getting started
« on: October 01, 2007, 04:57:27 PM »
Here's the story: I'm pretty new to this entire circuitry thing. I have a project for school (science olympiad specifically) in which I need to build an electric vehicle that travels a precise given distance.

For example, they would tell me that my car would have to stop at 173 cm, at which point I will program it to do so, and let it run.

I've been looking around a bunch of different online robotics shops, but I can't seem to find anything that I think is fit. I guess what I am looking for is a programmable motor, something running off of a 9 volt or so that I would be able to program to make a certain number of rotations. I would also naturally have to be able to change the number of rotations I want it to make at any point (changing it would have to be relatively simple, not something I would need to solder, etc. at home). Anybody have any ideas where I could go about finding something like this?

If worst comes to worst, I'm thinking about using a mechanical system for stopping the car, such as a wing nut sliding down a threaded axle as the car moves. In that case I would still need a motor to give the car its initial momentum.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks guys  :)
« Last Edit: October 01, 2007, 04:58:09 PM by Nastybutler187 »

Offline creedcradle

• Helpful? 0
  • Physics Robotics
Re: Building first robot, need help getting started
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2007, 06:20:53 PM »

I guess what I am looking for is a programmable motor, something running off of a 9 volt or so that I would be able to program to make a certain number of rotations. I would also naturally have to be able to change the number of rotations I

you need an encoder for your motor

see these:

www.pololu.com
http://www.active-robots.com/