Author Topic: $50 Robot on Meccano chassis  (Read 4536 times)

Offline peethornTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
$50 Robot on Meccano chassis
« on: October 08, 2009, 03:46:54 PM »
Hi All

I am very new to robotics and electronics. I have been spending a lot of time reading up on the various subject areas.
I am from South Africa.
I wanted to build the $50 robot as my first robot. I ordered the necessary parts from a local supplier (Our exchange rate to the dollar is not too great)
While I wait for the order to arrive I decided to start building my chassis. I appropriated one of my son's Meccano sets as I thought this would make a fairly sturdy base.
I am however struggling to find a local supplier of servo motors. My plan was to let the motor drive on the geared rim of the Meccano wheels.
The question is: Will a servo motor have enough rpm if I drive the wheels in this way? The rim gear on the wheel has 57 teeth.
Would it be an option to use normal dc motors to drive the wheels in this way? The prototyping board I ordered is big enough that I can build two H bridges on it as well.

Any input would be appreciated.

Peet

PS. Here is a photo of the chassis:
« Last Edit: October 08, 2009, 04:03:07 PM by peethorn »

Offline blackbeard

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
Re: $50 Robot on Meccano chassis
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2009, 04:33:57 PM »
Dealextreme is has servos. they're pretty cheep too at $5 shipped each. you could always use DC gear motors but that would involve changing the code and pinout as well as build an H bridge unless you want to add a motor controller.
"sure, you can test your combat robot on kittens... But all your going to do is make kitten juice"

First step: Build androids with AI
Next step: Give them vaginas

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2009, 01:27:41 AM »
Thanks, If I decide to use servos will the bot not be terribly slow?
Is there a lot that needs to change in the code if I use dc motors?