go away spammer

Author Topic: 50 bucks project electronics problem  (Read 1551 times)

Offline Mike11Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
50 bucks project electronics problem
« on: June 13, 2011, 11:58:50 AM »
Hi,

I am new to robotics and am having a problem with the last step in the tutorial. I've just finished the electronics part, downloaded software and am trying to program it. But it behaves really strange! Either I get a red or flashing orange (thought I reckon I checked my wiring a million times so far) or get green (yay!) if I plug the microcontroller really lightly but then get a popup which reads: check ISP cable or the reset pin pullout,...) Voltage is around 1.6 - is that OK or too low? Also, when I plug in a rechargeable 9V battery (around 6,5 V now) it flashes green and shows that popup. It I plug in a non-rechargeable, newer 9V, my voltage regulator starts heating up but voltage according to AVR studio is around 1 V and the diode is always red or orange (I change the battery only). Could you please help me with that? What's the reason for that weird behavior connected to batteries? Shall the regulator heat up? What's wrong with my ISP cable when diode flashes green? I am totally hopeless... thanks

Mike

Offline rbtying

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 31
Re: 50 bucks project electronics problem
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2011, 01:11:26 PM »
The voltage should be 5.00v (plus/minus 0.05v), so 1.6 is definitely too low.  Do you perhaps have your voltage regulator installed backwards?

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2011, 01:57:14 PM »
Hey, thank you! I reinstalled the regulator as it was really incorrect. Or at least it was opposite to the position of the regulator in the pics in tutorial. On the other hand, it was plugged correctly according to the visual diagram by Webbot. I think these two contradict a bit. Anyway, it now shows 0.9V and continues to heat up... Sigh

Mike

Offline adanvasco

• Helpful? 6
  • Necessity is the mother of invention.