Author Topic: HELP!  (Read 8299 times)

Offline Matthew HoltTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
HELP!
« on: February 18, 2006, 11:42:58 AM »
Dear All,

I'm a university student studying computer aided design. I am designing an electrically assisted light aircraft tug as part of my final year. My design is to carry a large weight remotely using differential drive and I have no idea where to start!

I have nearly decided on what electrical motors I will be using, but I will need help deciding on everything else required to build it including how to wire etc.

Somebody please help!

Kind regards,

Matthew

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: HELP!
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2006, 12:41:52 PM »
hmmmm what is an "electrically assisted light aircraft tug"? got a diagram perhaps?

diff drive is very simple . . .

and remotely? allowed to use a simple RC remote control, right?

you might want to consider going out and buying servos and a RC remote/receiver

someone asked me to write a tutorial on using remote controls but still finishing up another tutorial first . . . probably take me another 2 weeks to do it . . .

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2006, 01:46:02 PM »
Thankyou for the reply. Well the tug is currently under construction using CAD, so no images available at the moment. I don't have to build the tug, just use CAD to prove it.

Basically, it is a simple 3 axis vehicle using two parallel drive wheels and a free moving 360 degree wheel at the front (Very much like a castor). I am currently in the process of selecting my motors which will need to be both rated at 2HP in order to maneuver 7500 lbs at 5 MPH.

I understand I will require a speed controller, radio, radio receiver with separate battery not forgetting the two motors and their power supply.

If this list is correct what particular parts would you suggest for this application considering it's heavy duty?

Matthew