go away spammer

Author Topic: DIY 3D printer Project  (Read 2213 times)

Offline vipulan12Topic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
DIY 3D printer Project
« on: November 06, 2014, 09:59:15 PM »
Hey guys, I want to create my own custom 3d printer(my own design). I have some basic knowledge on how they work but I want  more in-depth information towards the hardware and design of the 3D printer.

Do you guys know of  any books or websites I should check out?

when I mean in-depth I mean all the technical details:

-what hardware is used in the extrude head?(what heats the head  to heat up the plastic?Why do they have a fan?what pushed out the filament and how much is pushed out during a print?)
-Could I use a couple of arduinos to control the stepper motors or should I use something like a raspberry Pi?
-How would I code the G-code into the machine(where do I learn g code?)?

Also what features do 3d printers have that make them attractive?(something I want to keep in mind when I design the printer)
-I heard of the feature of the heating bed auto-leveling itself or something?(could someone explain its importance?)

I don't know any serious knowledge yet so any information is much appreciated

thanks

Offline Billy

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 2
Re: DIY 3D printer Project
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2014, 02:21:50 AM »
google "reprap" and start reading.

Here's one I made using an ARM7 to drive DC brushed motors with encoder feedback.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SAGvzeQw2Oc
It's all custom except I bought the heated bed and the "hot end" which is the heated nozzle that plastic comes out of.

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2014, 03:50:22 PM »
If i wanted to increase the size of the heating bed could I put together some smaller heating beds to makes a larger surface?

Offline Billy

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 2
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2014, 01:56:52 AM »