Author Topic: I my microcontroller all the way in the pins?  (Read 1075 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline greywanderer012345Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 133
  • Helpful? 2
I my microcontroller all the way in the pins?
« on: January 13, 2011, 08:13:32 PM »
I'm building the $50 robot and I don't know if my mcu is pushed all the way into the board. I don't want to push it harder, but there is still about 1/16" space under it, and there is still some of the "skinny" part of the pins showing. There IS connectivity between pins that should share it. Should I try to push it down further?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,702
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: I my microcontroller all the way in the pins?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2011, 08:42:34 PM »
If it feels like a solid connection, you should be fine.

Offline Fr0stAngel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
  • Helpful? 3
  • [O_O] what??
Re: I my microcontroller all the way in the pins?
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2011, 07:11:45 AM »
if you have a multi-meter, you can check if the pins are connected properly.
it should be fine if the connections are working properly, cause you may damage the soldiered joints if you press too much.
'crazy' is the new hype! =)

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: I my microcontroller all the way in the pins?
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2011, 08:22:19 AM »
Hi,

I'm building the $50 robot and I don't know if my mcu is pushed all the way into the board. I don't want to push it harder, but there is still about 1/16" space under it, and there is still some of the "skinny" part of the pins showing.
I assume you are using a socket for it(?) and some sockets are flush with (the thin part of) the pins, while other have raised edges each side.

If in further doubt, please post a (sharp close-up) photo.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline greywanderer012345Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 133
  • Helpful? 2
Re: I my microcontroller all the way in the pins?
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2011, 11:43:51 AM »
 ;D Thanks for the fast replies! Checking with a multimeter, it seems to have good connections, so I'll leave it. I have everything set up. Now I just need to program it. I've never worked with microcontrollers before, and all of my programming experience is with C++ and Windows. I'm still a little overwhelmed trying to learn from the documentation. I'm using the atmega328p and the mkII programmer. Thanks for all the help everyone!

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list