go away spammer

Author Topic: SO.. i might have bitten off more than i can chew  (Read 1857 times)

Offline testsubject27Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
SO.. i might have bitten off more than i can chew
« on: November 03, 2014, 09:39:30 AM »
let me start off by saying hi to all as this is my first post.

Im currently studying a L3 btec in engineering and after getting top grades for my first year i have selected to make a Photovore for my last year project. to make my first robot more interesting i wanted to give it a memory recall system to prioritize high light locations and go there first.
and now that the first of my basic components are arriving i have found that i have no idea what i am doing with just the photovore, let alone the memory system.

so far i have 2x 5v motors, some 555 timers, lots of photo resistors, some zener diodes, 20 x NPN transistors, 25x in4001s, and 1 ultrasonic sensor unit for arduino, i already have an arduino Ono basic kit as well. i have also ordered the AEX001u picaxe board and chip to give options when it comes to programming.

I need so much help. any advice (and criticism served with help) is very welcome.

Offline mstacho

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 10
Re: SO.. i might have bitten off more than i can chew
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2014, 11:00:37 AM »
Generally speaking people come onto forums like this with very similar problems to yours and they rarely get help :-P The issue is that you aren't asking *specific* questions and haven't really shown us that you're trying to solve the problems that you have.  This is OK (it takes a while to be able to break a large project up into smaller chunks), but you won't get help until you at least try.  Here are some questions for you:

- Can you sense light?  How are you planning on doing that?
- Can you move your motors?  with what?
- What is your plan for turning/driving forward?  How many sensors will you use and how will you read them?