Author Topic: Beginner's MOSFET: Why is my Drain-Source volt drop 3.8V?  (Read 27063 times)

Offline GrahamTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Beginner's MOSFET: Why is my Drain-Source volt drop 3.8V?
« on: September 04, 2009, 06:09:11 PM »
Hi there,

Im new to MOSFETs but thought I understood them until building my own (very simple) test circuit.

I have connected a 9V battery positive terminal to the drain of a STP36NF06 N-channel power MOSFET. The source has been connected to an LED, then to a 100ohm resistor, then to the battery return. The gate is supplied with 5V with a voltage divider using the same battery (and resistors in the range of 100ohms). When the gate is supplied with 5V, I would expect the diode to light with current supplied from the drain-source path, but I have to supply the gate with the full 9V for this to happen. Then when I remove the gate voltage, the diode stays lit. If I then supply the gate with 5V (or anything less than about 9), the diode turns off!

Please can someone help!

Also, the voltage across the Drain and Source pins is 7.1V when the diode is off and 3.8V when the diode is on!! I thought this hsould drop to close to 0 when the diode is on as the MOSFET has been turned 'on'.

Again, any help would be most appreciated.

Graham

Offline billhowl

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: Beginner's MOSFET: Why is my Drain-Source volt drop 3.8V?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009, 07:05:31 PM »
Mosfets have 3 regions of operation that we will concern ourselves:

The first is cut-off mode, when the mosfet does not conduct.

The second is the saturation mode, when the mosfet is switched on and is conducting with a very low drain to source resistance.

The third region is in between cut-off and saturation, and is known as the triode region. This is the region where the mosfet begins to conduct, but has a high channel resistance.