go away spammer

Author Topic: 20-25 amp servo system.  (Read 3413 times)

Offline TreetpflyerTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
20-25 amp servo system.
« on: November 21, 2008, 02:15:30 PM »
Hi,

I pretty new at this, but I have a some questions about a simple system I'd like to make.  I would like to make a stand alone position servo system that is like an R/C servo system with a manual pot control,  just built for more current.  The system requirements are basically: pot to control 1-2ms pulses, servo gyro like one used in R/C helicopters, and a 12V, 20-25 amp servo motor to control a hydraulic actuator.  This would be for tilt control to balance one degree of freedom or axis.  It seems pretty simple but, since I'm new to this I'm sure there is a very simple(inexpensive) way to accomplish this.  I figure the servo will have a separate linear pot on the actuating arm of the hydraulic actuator.

Thanks for any info.

Offline ArcMan

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: 20-25 amp servo system.
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2008, 09:41:51 PM »
Define "inexpensive".  If you mean about $250, then you're right.

Offline szhang

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 1
    • szhang.net
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2008, 09:50:31 PM »
A) Why do you need a gyro.
B) Are you sure you need 12V @ 25A (300W)?
C) Simple? This thing has enough power to melt 16 gauge wire http://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm
D) Inexpensive... I guess ArcMan already covered this...

Offline Ro-Bot-X

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
    • Ro-Bot-X Designs
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2008, 10:29:25 PM »
You can build your own closed loop servo system with a microcontroller, potentiometer (connected to an A2D pin) or a shaft encoder, and a powerfull motor driver (PWM controlled). You can also add the Gyro to the control loop. All you need to do is find a powerfull enough motor driver, the rest is easy.
Check out the uBotino robot controller!