Author Topic: plug and play usb controllers for step motors and servos control  (Read 2671 times)

Offline Kerville7Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
plug and play usb controllers for step motors and servos control
« on: September 02, 2015, 02:26:43 PM »
Hi all,
I am an experienced software developer and decided to create just for fun a small robot.. The case is that I am afraid I do not have the time to get very deep with electronics so I was thinking to use an entire old PC as the brain, and for the motion 1 or two controllers of those being sold on the net that are connected to USB, and come also with relevant libraries that will help me consentrate more on coding..  Basically I will right a simple windows application that will control real time the servos and steppers..
Therefore before I start, I would really appreciate your opinion on this... I mean does this idea have any disadvantage I cannot know? Also could someone propose any USB servo / stepper real time controller that come with relevant software drivers?
Really appreciate your help..

Offline cyberjeff

• Helpful? 7
Re: plug and play usb controllers for step motors and servos control
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2015, 05:44:17 PM »
I suppose if you are a windows developer everything looks like a windows solution:

https://www.pc-control.co.uk/howto_servo.htm

I wouldn't go that route though. Connecting servos to a microcontroller is no big deal, microcontrollers typically have many inputs and a variety of devices that plug right in. In the Arduino community they call them shields. Assuming you are fluent in C++, you can dive right in.

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2015, 01:32:50 AM »
Thanks for your reply.

I understand your concern, and I agree.

Assuming that I follow the way you mentioned, and lets say I need 2 servos and 2 steppers in the project,

would I need 1 or 2 arduino plugged in the PC in order to controll the motors? Moreover, are these coming with relevant