Author Topic: Robot Localization - Coordinate System  (Read 2956 times)

Offline MaxBotTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Robot Localization - Coordinate System
« on: June 21, 2011, 02:10:46 PM »
Hey all, I'm a programmer and want to start getting into robotics as a serious hobby. I've got a few ideas of projects I'd love to tackle but they require the robot to know exactly where it is.

This is a functional robot so I don't care how it gets the information.. nor am I trying to make it act human-like.

I'm thinking that there should be some way of doing this with some method like this:
- Place 3-4 objects in your yard that emit a Radio Frequency or other signal type.
- The bot has a sensor that can detect the direction that the radio frequency is coming from in each signal emiting object.
- From there it's extremely simple to construct a coordinate system. I do know how to do this already.

I'd go for GPS but I'm pretty sure that is not very accurate when it get's down to inches (correct me if I'm wrong).

So my main questions are
- Is there a pre-built system in place that I can purchase that will help me do these things?
- Is there any documentation that you know of that I can read for this type of localization?

Offline corrado33

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 11
Re: Robot Localization - Coordinate System
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2011, 02:37:13 PM »
Just throwing out ideas here... but could you use signal strength?  The closer you are the stronger the signal will be.  (I have no idea how you'd do that.)

Or you could have different antennas on your bot and poll each one.  Like one on each corner.  Maybe one of the antennas will have a stronger signal and then you head in that direction.

Or have one antenna and make a sorta reflective radar dish and spin the dish around.  Keep checking the signal strength and when it's the strongest, head in the direction the dish is pointing.

I have no idea how you'd check signal strength...  :D

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0