go away spammer

Author Topic: Need help with identifying welding job intersections with computer vision  (Read 2915 times)

Offline yashmaniacTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Hi,
Before I begin, I'd like to mention that I'm a complete novice in the field of image processing. I just need to know if this is possible before putting time and energy into it.

Consider there are two plates to be welded. My idea is to have a camera take video input, identify the profile of the intersection of the two plates using a processor, and work out the 3 dimensional coordinates of the profile, and relay the information to another system.
My question: Is is possible to derive the shape of the profile and the 3d coordinates of the intersection, from a video?
Also, if yes, then could anyone give me an idea as to what it may entail?

Offline mklrobo

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
  • From Dream to Design at the speed of Imagination!
 8) Cool problem!   8)
I can offer only logical options; I am stumped at the programming of the Axon. I expect to
overcome this soon.
The tutorials in this forum cover camera AI. I do not know if there is enough information for you
to use to your advantage. There are some instructive videos in the video section that may offer options too.
Your request;
My question: Is it possible to derive the shape of the profile and the 3d coordinates of the intersection, from a video?
My response would be, yes, but may be expensive, depending on your objectives.
Industry used lasers in a calibrated area to determine the dimensions of your pieces to be welded. information from
video itself may prove problematic, because of scale and possibilitiy of optical illusions. (?)
Scale, space, emplacement of video are factors to be considered.
Cameras can pick up different spectral emissions, which may add to your advantage, as well as depth perception. (?)
Good Luck!  :) :D ;D

• Helpful? 0
Thanks,