Author Topic: NiMH vs. NiCd Batteries Question  (Read 4370 times)

Offline the jeenyusTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
NiMH vs. NiCd Batteries Question
« on: April 30, 2009, 03:42:23 PM »
Hello. I am new to batteries, and upon the connection of a 6V 1700 mAh NiCd battery to my $50 robot, one of my servos and the microcontroller fried. I initially used a 6V 1400 mAh NiMH battery, but I am not sure what the difference is. I read somewhere that NiCd batteries have a higher output than NiMH, so could that be the reason that my poor little servo fried?

I am also seeking advice for future projects. I would like to know your personal preference battery-wise, or if they each could be unique to a particular situation.

NiMH or NiCd?

Offline SmAsH

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: NiMH vs. NiCd Batteries Question
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2009, 03:49:07 PM »
id say something else in the circuit is wrong if the mcu fried. it should be protected by the voltage regulator.
Howdy

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2009, 03:55:53 PM »
But it already worked. It only worked while using the 6V 1400 mAh NiMH battery. It immediately fried when I plugged in the 6V 1700 mAh NiCd battey.

Offline TrickyNekro

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
  • Hardware and Firmware Designer
    • The Hellinic Robots Portal
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2009, 03:59:18 PM »
something else happened for sure....
For whom the interrupts toll...

Offline GearMotion

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
    • CircuitGizmos
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2009, 04:00:56 PM »
James makes a reasonable assumption. So what could have gone wrong? Possibly your new battery pack polarity is different? Did handling the circuit cause a mishap such as pressing two connections together?

Offline SmAsH

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 75
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2009, 04:01:25 PM »