go away spammer

Author Topic: Kind of motor for joint movement  (Read 2990 times)

Offline BatienzaxcoreTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
  • Just me. Really.
Kind of motor for joint movement
« on: August 14, 2012, 11:18:24 AM »
Hey guys. I'm currently a graduating engineering student, and me and my groupmates are on our way to do a portable robot manipulator for knee rehabilitation using a PIC16F877A (We were not allowed to use arduino and arduino clones in our school for this final design project, so yeah, it kinda sucks) and a motor to manipulate the knee using an exoskeletal structure.

But then, I just don't seem to know what kind of motor am I supposed to use, and its specifications such as its maximum torque and supply voltage, since I'm not really good at torque and stuff like this. Any advice what type of motor to use? Thanks.
Music is really my thing. But I am haunted by my fantasies of seeing robots rock out - A literal metal band.

Offline Gertlex

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 24
  • Nuclear Engineer ยท Roboticist
    • Index of Oddities
Re: Kind of motor for joint movement
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 11:31:58 AM »
I would imagine the type of motor to use depends on the knee brace or whatever that is being actuated.  More information on that sort of thing would be useful.
I

• Helpful? 0
  • Just me. Really.
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2012, 11:48:43 AM »
Would this link help?

http://www.coe.neu.edu/Research/robots/papers/TM_AKROD_ON_LINE.pdf

Basically, the design would be similar to the one illustrated by this project.
Music is really my thing. But I am haunted by my fantasies of seeing robots rock out - A literal metal band.

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2012, 11:53:06 AM »
I've seen some designs that use out-runner brush-less motor and harmonic drive. I assume stepper motor would do as well, although I'm not sure how much smoothness You'd be able to get with software.