go away spammer

Author Topic: Noob questions about buying tools and parts to get started  (Read 5178 times)

Offline robotimTopic starter

• Helpful? 1
Noob questions about buying tools and parts to get started
« on: February 08, 2010, 09:50:10 AM »
Hi everyone,

I've been interested in robotics for awhile and I just happened to stumble upon this website a week or so ago. After looking around I've become very interested in building the $50 robot and doing some of the upgrades. Which, of course, brings me to my questions.

I am serious about building robots, but I have never built one before. Meaning I have zero tools (no solder iron, etc) and no parts. Could someone recommend appropriate tools and a collection or extra parts that would be handy?

Based on the tutorials I read, I plan on buying a soldering set, a multimeter, a few servos from servocity, the $50 robot parts kit from CircuitGizmos, and a programmer from Mouser. I also want to get all of the parts required to do the "bonus" upgrades for $50 robot.

Words of wisdom, and advice about good soldering irons, multimeters, or parts to have would be very helpful! Thanks!

Offline Hertz32

• Helpful? 0
Re: Noob questions about buying tools and parts to get started
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2010, 12:35:06 PM »
servocity r overpriced get a microprocessor that can be programmed in c# (its easy and u can get express wich is free) or similar

• Helpful? 1
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2010, 12:35:12 AM »
Thanks for your advice! I'll probably stick to C/C++ though since I am already familiar with them.

Does anyone have any recommendation for charging battery packs? I see lots of expensive chargers but I've read that you can use a power source from a computer as a charger.

• Helpful? 1
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2010, 12:36:53 PM »
http://www.curiousinventor.com/store/product/296

How does that tool set look? I think I'd be pretty satisfied with paying around $150 for all of the tools I need and a battery charger.