go away spammer

Author Topic: How Should I Proceed?  (Read 2092 times)

Offline Gokz1000Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
How Should I Proceed?
« on: December 03, 2008, 03:49:22 PM »
Before I begin I just want to point out that I have never built robots before, but seeing as my Major is Computer and Electrical Engineering I figure waiting around for it to be taught in class is boring and I might as well get a head start on robotics.

I want to build a pair of differential drive robots very similar to the $50 Robot tutorial on this site. The only modifications I want to make is to make them "battlebots". I want to add  IR sensors onto the robots and have an LED light up when they have been shot by another robot. Also, to allow for further modifications, I want to allow the robots to communicate with my computer via Bluetooth. The reason for this being that, if the project goes well, It should be a piece of cake to write a program on my computer to do things such as keep score and add special "game modes" or what not. But, that is all for the future.

My question is this, In terms of drive, I see two options.
1) Go out and buy some cheap remote control cars, tear them apart, and use to included hardware with the servos I buy for the $50 robot to drive it around. Also buy the microcontroller and have that operate separately from the drive system and take car of receiving hits (turn on and LED to show that it has been shot). I see a problem with this in that it might be hard to get the remote control car hardware to activate an IR device, but I have never tried this of course. In this scenario the bluetooth would not be required unless I wanted to communicate with the computer for score keeping or something like that.