go away spammer

Author Topic: Battery connector for $50 robot?  (Read 3846 times)

Offline ribsTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Battery connector for $50 robot?
« on: June 09, 2007, 11:41:55 AM »
Hi - I've got lots of programming experience but no electronics experience (like, I've never touched a resistor before, or used a soldering iron), and I'm just going through the $50 robot tutorial shopping list to start making my first robot.

I was looking at onlybatterypacks.com for the recommended 6v battery packs but I don't know which connector to choose (i.e. which connector fits with the male header that I will put on the pc board).  There are a bunch of choices (futaba, hitec, molex, mini-t, bec, kyosho, tamiya, etc.), and it looks like a bunch of them are about the right size, but I wanted to see if one was best.

Also, the choices have "Male: battery side" and "female: charger side", and I assume I actually want "female: charger side" despite the fact that it will be from the battery pack, since I will plug it onto male header pins?  Or am I mistaken?

Thanks for the help.

And thanks for the tutorials - they make a quite daunting task a little less frightening.

Offline maverick monk

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Battery connector for $50 robot?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2007, 07:43:16 PM »
for conectors use Deans micro plugs http://www.atomicmods.com/Products/Deans-Micro-Plug-Set__10104.aspx they are geat, the plugs are gold plated and VERY effecient, but if your using a Batt. with more than 1000mah cells. id suggest http://www.atomicmods.com/Products/Deans-Ultra-Plug-Set__12944.aspx deans ultra plugs, they can stand more current, and are still just as effective, but they are bigger and not needed for smaller batteries.