Author Topic: Device to rotate flashlight? Like PTZ  (Read 3415 times)

Offline alexusTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Device to rotate flashlight? Like PTZ
« on: December 30, 2010, 09:45:40 PM »
Hey all!
I want to build some sort of PTZ device that I can use to rotate reflector in the car headlights (assuming reflector is reasonably small, like flash light size) I probably need no more then 90 degree pan & tilt maybe even less then that. I could use brackets and mount them on servos like in case of PTZ camera but that not going to hold position firmly when i drive :( so i thought to use spiral type of sprocket... there is only one problem, :) i have no idea where to get parts and how to mount them ... well i'm not good with mechanics at all ... so maybe some one can help me out? Thank you!

Offline nickc

• Helpful? 0
Re: Device to rotate flashlight? Like PTZ
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2011, 05:45:11 PM »

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2011, 05:47:21 PM »
i have thousem but is power is not suplied it will loose position and if i dont have high torque then it shales a bit :( i need some sprokets to have fixation of the position

Offline nickc

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2011, 06:26:03 PM »
I didn't understand some of the words in that sentence but I think you mean you want something that can hold position without power.  Worm drive motors can't be back-driven so they would work. Or motors with brakes on the shaft that require power to release the brake would work.
Rotating just the reflector in a car head light would be tricky as you would have to keep the position of the bulb relative to the reflector constant or you would lose (not loose) focus.  This implies that the center of rotation for the reflector would have to in front of the reflector.  Mounting the reflector in gimbals and using small linear actuators to move it might work.