Author Topic: hooking a robot to the internet  (Read 3217 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
hooking a robot to the internet
« on: October 21, 2007, 06:02:03 PM »
i am considering trying to hook a robot to the internet so i can drive it from any computer. i would also like to hook a webcam to the bot and hook the link up to my computer but also see the link from any computer along with my contoles

just considering
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline frank26080115

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 322
  • Helpful? 2
Re: hooking a robot to the internet
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2007, 06:11:11 PM »
http://www.circuitcellar.com/wiznet/sample.html

i just got mine, 2mm pin pitch is making it impossible to use though

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: hooking a robot to the internet
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2007, 06:25:30 PM »
what is a 2mm pin pinch
does it come with instructions & all needed software
is it hard to install
what is needed to make it work
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline Steve Joblin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
  • Helpful? 2
Re: hooking a robot to the internet
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2007, 07:09:57 PM »
it is the spacing of the leads on the chip... they are spaced 2mm apart...

I would suggest looking at RoboRealm.com... it is free to download and can support everything you want.  Essentially, you need a robot with a bluetooth connection to a PC running RoboRealm, and a wireless webcam.

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: hooking a robot to the internet
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2007, 07:24:03 PM »
am i going to need to program a microcontroller or does it come with it
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: hooking a robot to the internet
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2007, 02:04:31 PM »
Quote
i am considering trying to hook a robot to the internet so i can drive it from any computer.
a search on the subject reveals this:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=538.0

also search for posts by airman00 on his Butler Robot for an alternative approach.

dunk.

 


Get Your Ad Here