Author Topic: Command servos  (Read 1294 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tipipliouTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
  • Helpful? 0
Command servos
« on: March 08, 2010, 03:21:08 PM »
hello
i'm making a robot(my first one),
it works with 2 servos,i'll use a 6v battery for them,and a Microship microcontroler 16f877
i want to know what I have to add (capacitors,resistors...) to the circuit? or can i just connect the servos directly to the microcontroler
thanks

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,944
  • Helpful? 99
Re: Command servos
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2010, 03:26:47 PM »
Beside the standard bypass cap and the MCLR pull-up on the the PIC. You'll need a LDO 5Volt regulator to power the PIC with input and output caps.

Power the servos directly from the 6V battery. The servo's control signal can be connected directly to a PIC output pin.

Offline tipipliouTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Command servos
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2010, 03:42:13 PM »
ok,thanks a lot
another question: if i use another microcontroler(for sensors)  ,can i connect it directly to the first one or not?


PS:sorry if my english is .......

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,944
  • Helpful? 99
Re: Command servos
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2010, 06:52:03 PM »
If both processors are supplied with the same voltage, say +5V then the output pin from one can be directly connected to the input pin of the other.
If the two processors are running from different voltages, say +5V and +3.3V then it will depend on a the exact processors you are using and may or may not be able to directly connect them. In this case always read the data sheet very carefully.

Quote
PS:sorry if my english is .......

I have no problem with your English.

Offline BEAMer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Command servos
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2010, 09:27:20 PM »
One important thing about servos. provide a good current...

Or else the behaviour may be erratic and you may waste time suspecting the pulse width to be the problem.
A typical RC servo will consume about 500mA. Since you are using 2 servos use a battery that can provide at least 1.2A

BEAMer

Offline tipipliouTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Command servos
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2010, 11:16:03 PM »
ok,thanks
for the current,i'm using NIMH Battery with 2500 AmH ,so i shouldn't have any problem
thank you again

 


Get Your Ad Here