Author Topic: avr microcontroler programing  (Read 3106 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ballbreakerTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • Helpful? 1
avr microcontroler programing
« on: July 22, 2010, 03:58:40 AM »
Can you program an avr microcontroler using the AVR studio 4 or you need another program like ponyprog to do it and if you can how?
For Those About To Rock, We Salute You!

Offline Conscripted

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
  • Helpful? 10
Re: avr microcontroler programing
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2010, 05:54:14 AM »
You can write the program for your microcontroller in AVR studio 4 however you will need something like ponyprog to actually transfer the program into the microcontroller. This may help you understand. http://www.societyofrobots.com/step_by_step_robot_step4.shtml

Conscripted

Offline ballbreakerTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • Helpful? 1
Re: avr microcontroler programing
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2010, 08:07:19 AM »
there is no way to program it with avr studio because i thing i saw something in another post usng the connect to the selected avr programer or is that something else
For Those About To Rock, We Salute You!

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
Re: avr microcontroler programing
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2010, 09:45:19 AM »
That is if you are using certain types of programmers like the AVR ISP MKII or STK500

Offline kupter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Helpful? 0
Re: avr microcontroler programing
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2010, 10:37:16 AM »
you can use WInAVR to make program and to see step by step how your program work( see value off register that you use ,PORT etc) usuallu use Avr studio.. byt by suggest you can use Code Vision AVR... it more easy to use...

Offline garrettg84

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 187
  • Helpful? 8
  • Armchair Roboticist Extraordinaire
    • http://www.garrettgalloway.com/
Re: avr microcontroler programing
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2010, 09:29:49 AM »
All AVR chips with USB hardware come preloaded with a USB bootloader and no programmer is necessary. Arduino is the other option. Arduino boards are AVR chips with the Arduino bootloader allows the use of serial/ttl to USB using an FTDI chip and they support programming via USB with no additional programmer.
-garrett

Offline greywanderer012345

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 133
  • Helpful? 2
Re: avr microcontroler programing
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2010, 06:54:54 PM »
All AVR chips with USB hardware come preloaded with a USB bootloader and no programmer is necessary. Arduino is the other option. Arduino boards are AVR chips with the Arduino bootloader allows the use of serial/ttl to USB using an FTDI chip and they support programming via USB with no additional programmer.

whoa whoa whoa! I'm a total newbie here, about to buy everything I need for my first robot. Do I need a programmer? I was looking at using an atmega168. When you say, AVR chip, are you talking about a preaugmented board or developement board, or just the chip. I HAVE seen chips advertised as having the arduino bootloader on them, but I'm still not too sure what arduino is. Can I use the arduino bootloader to program my chip with a prgram written in C in avrstudio? Thanks

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
    • Ro-Bot-X Designs
Re: avr microcontroler programing
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2010, 07:04:18 PM »
whoa whoa whoa! I'm a total newbie here, about to buy everything I need for my first robot. Do I need a programmer? I was looking at using an atmega168. When you say, AVR chip, are you talking about a preaugmented board or developement board, or just the chip. I HAVE seen chips advertised as having the arduino bootloader on them, but I'm still not too sure what arduino is. Can I use the arduino bootloader to program my chip with a prgram written in C in avrstudio? Thanks

For a blank ATmega168 chip you need a hardware programmer. For a ATmega168 chip with Arduino bootloader, you need a USB FTDI cable. If you buy a board, depends what was installed on that board.
If you decide to program in AVR Studio, get a hardware programmer and blank chips.
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline garrettg84

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 187
  • Helpful? 8
  • Armchair Roboticist Extraordinaire
    • http://www.garrettgalloway.com/
Re: avr microcontroler programing
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2010, 07:41:56 PM »
Do I need a programmer? I was looking at using an atmega168.

The atmega168 doesn't have built in USB hardware. So yes, as Ro-Bot-X said, you will need a programmer. I use the AVR ISP mkII and it seems to have done the trick so far.

For a full listing of the current AVR chips:
http://atmel.com/dyn/products/devices.asp?family_id=607

I buy all of my gear from mouser.com, cheap and quick on the shipping.
http://www.mouser.com/Semiconductors/Integrated-Circuits-ICs/Microcontrollers-Microprocessors/Microcontrollers-MCU/_/N-6j768Zscv7?P=1yzud7pZ1yzudfe&Ns=Pricing|0&FS=True
-garrett

 


data_list