Author Topic: Pls help with non-robotic electronics project  (Read 1030 times)

Offline EddieTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Pls help with non-robotic electronics project
« on: September 22, 2010, 03:12:04 AM »
Hi guys I'm new here, I haven't gotten the chance to start my own robotics projects yet(only experience is Lego Mindstorms :) )
Anyway I need help on building what seems to be a simple project(it will be a gift), and thought this would be a good place to ask for help.

I have SOME experience with electronics but I'm no expert so please bare with me if I sound like a noob.

Basically it will consist of two objects(Object-1 and Object-2), when they are put right next to each other, there will be an audio playback and when they are separated the audio should stop.

Now here is how I intend to do this. I am planning on getting this recording module:

http://www.electronics123.com/s.nl/it.A/id.2841/.f

I will use the software provided to upload an audio clip to it(a song, or part of it at least).

Okay the recording module will be located inside Object-1. The module has a push switch/button for playback & stop. What I plan on doing(this is where I'm probably wrong and I need some advice!) is remove the switch/button and replace is with a Reed Switch like this one:

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8642

Then inside Object-2 will be a magnet that will activate the Reed Switch inside Object-1 and play the audio. At least thats what I want it to do, but I have a feeling it is more complicated than just replacing the switch.I think this might not work since the original switch works with just one push i guess, and the reed switch is something that will be 'open' or 'ON' the entire time the two objects are placed next to each other??