Author Topic: Help With First RC Robot Please  (Read 2020 times)

Offline ptbecker2Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Help With First RC Robot Please
« on: November 15, 2010, 05:10:27 PM »
Hi, I'm very new to robotics. This site and videos on youtube have inspired me to get started. The only problem is, I'm pretty lost. I've done my research and have a pretty good understanding of transmitters, receivers, servos, crystals, etc. But I have a few questions. Like do the transmitter, receiver, and crystals all have to have the same MHz? And is it okay if the three aren't all made by the same company? Please respond ASAP. If you have the time to give me a very specific list of things I need that would be great.
Sincerely,
ptbecker2

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Help With First RC Robot Please
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2010, 07:10:25 AM »
Hi,

I've done my research and have a pretty good understanding of transmitters, receivers, servos, crystals, etc. But I have a few questions. Like do the transmitter, receiver, and crystals all have to have the same MHz?
So much for "pretty good understanding"   ;)
Would you ask if a 4 mm bolt, a 6 mm nut and a 9 mm hole would work together?

And is it okay if the three aren't all made by the same company?
As long as they are compatible, i.e. same frequency, same transmission protocol etc.

Seems like what you want to build is a ROVer (Remote Operated Vehicle), not really a robot, but more like a common R/C car, so you might wanna consider hacking up a cheap R/C car to start with - then you have all the parts needed and can build on that for a while, to get a better understanding of what goes together and how.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline abuse.bot

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2010, 07:56:51 AM »