go_away

Author Topic: hexapod motors  (Read 4173 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline benjiTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 830
  • Helpful? 0
hexapod motors
« on: October 22, 2007, 10:03:31 AM »
hey guys , actually in trying to make a hexapod i should use servo pwms but the problem is that i cant get them ..
someone told me why not use steppers ,as long as i have 12 ones, but still im not sure about the TORQUE ,,,, i read that the servo most hexapods use is with a torque of 3kg.cm
i checked some steppers and it is no more than 10 gF.cm holding torque ,,,im not sure if i can use a stepper....
latley i was thinking why not use dc motor,,and make it rotate half rotation, since that what i need only in the hexapod walk,,is there some way to break the dc motor after one half rotation?
i read a litl about the L298n,, still not sure,,,,help
good ol' BeNNy

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,702
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: hexapod motors
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2007, 10:09:30 AM »
You definitely want to be using servos for this.

Quote
i should use servo pwms but the problem is that i cant get them ..
Tell us about your setup/microcontroller and we will help you out.

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: hexapod motors
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2007, 10:25:34 AM »
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline Fredrik Andersson

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Helpful? 0
Re: hexapod motors
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2007, 12:51:06 PM »
Yes, no question about it. You should use servos.

http://www.lynxmotion.com/Category.aspx?CategoryID=3

Read about these hexapods, it might give you some ideas.
You need pretty much power for a hexapod. I think you should go for at least 76oz-in. It's the minimum requirements at Lynxmotion and they sure know their thing.
Current project: Pirrh - Portable Intelligent Round Rolling Hexapod

Offline benjiTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 830
  • Helpful? 0
Re: hexapod motors
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2007, 01:23:07 PM »
Quote
Tell us about your setup/microcontroller and we will help you out.
sorry i meant i cant get the pwm servos, not the pwms ,,by the way im using the atmega128 .

Quote
Check this message: http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=2183.msg14598#msg14598
yea i did check this earlier but i dont know how to break the dc motor at exactly 180 degrees .

Quote
You need pretty much power for a hexapod. I think you should go for at least 76oz-in.
the whole hexapod im tryin to build is 2.5 kg as weight . its alaminium. does it really need that 76oz-in ???
good ol' BeNNy

Offline Fredrik Andersson

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Helpful? 0
Re: hexapod motors
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2007, 01:39:22 PM »
Quote
Tell us about your setup/microcontroller and we will help you out.
sorry i meant i cant get the pwm servos, not the pwms ,,by the way im using the atmega128 .

Quote
Check this message: http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=2183.msg14598#msg14598
yea i did check this earlier but i dont know how to break the dc motor at exactly 180 degrees .

Quote
You need pretty much power for a hexapod. I think you should go for at least 76oz-in.
the whole hexapod im tryin to build is 2.5 kg as weight . its alaminium. does it really need that 76oz-in ???


Have you checked the internet? I am pretty sure they sell servos out there somewhere. ;) :P

2.5 kg, that's pretty much i think... is it with or without batteries?

Ah, just noticed you are using only 2DoF legs, so you could probably go easier on the torque then, but as your robot weight 2.5 kilos i really think you should go for the 76 oz-in ones.
Current project: Pirrh - Portable Intelligent Round Rolling Hexapod

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list