Author Topic: new to robotics and would like some help with transmitter, receivers and servos?  (Read 4723 times)

sampenso08

hi I am new to all this robotic stuff and i would like some help please. i am a student in year 12 studying systems engineering and i am planning on producing a mail box that tells the home owner when they have received any mail. i plan on doing this by using a motion sensor to detect movement in the letter box. the motion sensor will act as a switch to activate a transmitter which sends a signal to a receiver inside the home. this receiver will then activate a servo witch moves an arm that flick a switch witch activates a small LED to notify the user of mail. the servo arm will then move back to the off position leaving the LED on.

i am not sure as to the types of transmitters, receivers, and servos that i need? I'm am also not sure as to how to turn on the transmitter to send the signal to the receiver? also i would like to learn how to hook up the receiver to activate the servo?   

Any help and info would be greatly appreciated!!
« Last Edit: April 06, 2008, 01:20:07 AM by sampenso08 »

Offline superchiku

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
ur application is actually quite simple ,1st of the transmitter , motion detector all can be done with the help of a microcontroller. just use ir to see if any motion has been detected , program ur  microcontroller to switch on the led when motion has been detected , just reset it when u takt ur letters out and everything will start all over again

see simple..
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

sampenso08

:) :)thanks "superchiku" that helps me alot.  :) :)
could you maybe give me a list of some of the main components that i need to buy because i dont have any on hand and i am not sure what to ask for when i go to a hobby shop to buy the required components.

thanks again!!
« Last Edit: April 05, 2008, 11:25:43 PM by sampenso08 »

Offline szhang