go_away

Author Topic: First project  (Read 2343 times)

Offline Tomomastchi-projectTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
First project
« on: September 24, 2008, 12:25:41 PM »
Hello guys,

I am currently in the design phase of my first robot project. I did not have a lot of experience yet but I already red a lot about electronics, microcontrollers and robotics so I have some BASIC knowledge.
What my(actually our, as I work together with a good friend of mine) idea was is a simple interactive pet-like robot. I already made up a lot of functions and algorithms that go with it but I have some questions, especially concerning the controller.
I came to the conclusion that the most suitable controller for my project is a PIC 16F877, programmed in C through the HIGH T assembler. This is where my first questions comes: 1. I want to build a simple programmer myself. What should I do? A JDM2 based one would be OK I think, but I am not sure. Shoulf I just build http://www.instructables.com/id/Business-Card-PIC-Programmer/ and connect to it using IC prog? It really doesn't matter to me what programmer I will build and what program it uses to upload as long as it works and it is easy to build(clear schematics and instructions seem to be absent at the site I linked to).
2 Is it going to be a problem if I use a PIC 17F877 A in combination with the programmer?
3 What is the most commonly used connector system in robotics. I ask this because I want to start off with some of the basic functions and then add extra sensors / actuators later on when I'm finished with the more simple tasks.
4 I have a book about C++ programming and I actually can do some C++ programming, can I just use the syntaxis of it and use the HIGH T functions?
5 What kind of motor suits best for a beginner? Just a regular DC motor?