Author Topic: 50$ robot voltage regulator question...  (Read 1715 times)

Offline dwb4629Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
50$ robot voltage regulator question...
« on: November 20, 2008, 10:56:56 PM »
howdy!

so... i'm new at this, i'm sure you haven't heard that one before, but i just finished the circuit board for the 50$ bot, my first circuit board ever, and i tested it and it's getting power everywhere it should.  i've built the one that uses the battery holder and the 9v.

heres my situation, while testing it with the 9v it had 9v into the voltage regulator but was putting out around 8.3v.  it was a steady voltage, the only time i've seen my digital multimeter hold a steady number for more than 5 seconds, but thats to high isn't it? that reading was without a load of any sort.  will putting a load on it bring the voltage down to where it should be? is this normal?

heres another variable... i work right next to radio shack and when i can get components there i can, and the voltage regulator was one the components i found there.  i've come to find out the the radio shack vr is a "fixed" voltage regulator while the one on the parts list is a "linear".  i can only imagine there is a difference but i cant find much explaining the difference.

i thought i could have damaged it with my exceptionally terrible soldering skills, so i bought another one today, and an led (a cheap load), and because i apparently can't pay attention to fine print i got one rated for 3 volts. so i got home and soldered it into a practice board, and tested it all again, the voltage regulator was outputting the same (8.3v), but for the 3 or 4 seconds of led i had before it fried, it did drop to about 7.5v. am i on to something?  any help would be as awesome a getting a free bioloid. 

paulstreats

Re: 50$ robot voltage regulator question...
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2008, 05:41:13 AM »