go_away

Author Topic: Basics about IR sensors  (Read 3836 times)

Offline ukeshTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Basics about IR sensors
« on: March 19, 2009, 10:06:56 AM »
hi..!
Im new to robotics and im not used to the technical words about robotics(sorry). I Recently bought an Multipurpose IR Sensor/Transreceiver and robot controller board with atmega32. how do i connect the sensor to the board to use it as an receiver so that it can be used to control the motors.

the pic of the sensor:http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=11&products_id=94

thnx in advance..

Offline pomprocker

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Basics about IR sensors
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2009, 10:20:30 AM »
Read the datasheet of the sensor, and the datasheet of the microcontroller.

I am going to assume that because it has 4 pin connectors that is needs either regulated 3.3v or regulated 5v on one pin. GND to MCU on another pin, and two pins are for TX and RX for UART.

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2009, 10:41:06 AM »
Read the datasheet of the sensor, and the datasheet of the microcontroller.

I am going to assume that because it has 4 pin connectors that is needs either regulated 3.3v or regulated 5v on one pin. GND to MCU on another pin, and two pins are for TX and RX for UART.
thnx for the reply...

Ya it does uses 5v supply. i am going to use an remote to control the motor. so il hav to use only 3 pins( 1 for gnd, another for supply, another for signals) rite? pls correct me if am wrong.

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2009, 03:18:07 PM »
Hi,

The #1 skill you need to make anything robotics (and almost anything else in this world) is, without doubt, the skill of reading!

From the web page you linked to:
Features

Modulated 38KHz receiver
555 timer for generating output frequency
Range setting potentiometer
Up to 20cm range for white object