Author Topic: Heap 'o Questions  (Read 3567 times)

Offline BrandonTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Heap 'o Questions
« on: October 23, 2009, 11:01:32 AM »
Hey everyone,

Surprise, surprise, I'm new to robotics. I am however a software developer by profession. Sadly though my knowledge of electronics is limited to what I learned in high school some time ago...which I have since forgotten anyway. :-\

I've been researching the subject intensely for a little over a week now and trying to form a "plan of attack" for my project. I've come up with a number of different questions I'm hoping you guys can help me out with.

First let me explain what I'm trying to accomplish. I'm majoring in computational intelligence for my BSc. Hence my focus is primarily on developing the AI. That being said, please bear in mind I have no desire to build my own components at this time. While I realise I can do this with my PC already, the end goal is getting a robot to exhibit said intelligence and that's what I want to learn (besides, robots are element 53 on the periodic table of awesome). I want to create a simple robot that does nothing more than randomly roam, avoiding obstacles, avoid plunging to it's death off an elevated surface, basic things like that. Once I'm more familiar with the hardware and how it all fits together and how the software goes about controlling things I'm hoping to make it do more advanced things like mapping, pathfinding and so on.

I've been reading alot from various sources (including SoR), watched many youtube vids and have decided i want my robot to based on the following criteria:
  • Arduino based
  • Use tracks (yes I know what you're thinking, humor me please)
  • Needs to run for at least several hours before needing a recharge
  • Must be idiot proof (myself being the idiot)

Now the questions: