go_away

Author Topic: Motors - Servos or DC?  (Read 2258 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CyclonedTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Helpful? 1
Motors - Servos or DC?
« on: December 30, 2009, 10:20:24 AM »
I don't know whether to choose between servos or DC motors. I want one that you just plug in without any programming. I read that servos don't require programming, but isn't it necessary for them to be controlled by joystick?

Offline z.s.tar.gz

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: Motors - Servos or DC?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2009, 11:57:49 AM »
Servos do not need programming to be used by joysticks, although you'll need a controller for them.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Motors - Servos or DC?
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2009, 05:12:57 PM »
Servos do not need programming to be used by joysticks, although you'll need a controller for them.
So your telling me if i go get my $50 board, plug in a joystick and a servo it will go?
Everything needs programming, servos and dc motors are similar, servos have their control circuitry on board whereas motors need external circuitry.
Servos don't need a joystick, i have no idea where you got that from...
Read some of the tutorials on the main site, really... It will help.
Howdy

Offline z.s.tar.gz

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: Motors - Servos or DC?
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2009, 05:52:54 PM »
I said they don't need programming, not that you don't need a program. In fact I think I did say you needed a controller...

Anyways, you could make a simple circuit with dc motors for your joystick if you want, but other than that you're going to need a MCU.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline CyclonedTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Motors - Servos or DC?
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2009, 01:07:26 AM »
I am going to make a super simple thing.....

2 motors and a battery attached to a receiver which can be controlled by the transmitter.

Now will this require any programming?

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Motors - Servos or DC?
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2009, 02:10:13 AM »
so by the sounds of it you can just use a r/c radio set for your purposes.

With this you can use  servos by plugging them into the reciever and controlling them with the transmitter box.

and you can use motors with a simple h-bridge circuit.

i am talking of a simple rc radio system like this. you just have to chose how many channels you want, servos or motors you want to control.

and they range from cheap to expensive.

http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://www.hooked-on-rc-airplanes.com/images/rc-radio-system.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.hooked-on-rc-airplanes.com/rc-airplane-radio.html&usg=__HLCwiomF4bEslQtsErp_yLkL9cs=&h=592&w=1500&sz=79&hl=en&start=1&sig2=aCkSYsseCsHAPeYJZDqTVA&um=1&tbnid=zq60zCuz7IG8UM:&tbnh=59&tbnw=150&prev=/images%3Fq%3Drc%2Bradio%2Bsystems%26hl%3Den%26rlz%3D1T4GGIE_enAU342AU346%26sa%3DN%26um%3D1&ei=EFw8S5OwMIGC7QP43dyvAQ

Offline CyclonedTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Motors - Servos or DC?
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2009, 04:37:59 AM »
http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7&products_id=203

I was thinking of using that. Since it is just plug n play, it wouldn't require any programming, right?

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Motors - Servos or DC?
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2009, 05:16:21 AM »
Well it said you just have to hook up a battery and motors.

there for it sounds like it will work for you. But wait for comfermation though(some on to comfirm my theory).

Good Luck

Joker94

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Motors - Servos or DC?
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2009, 05:29:21 AM »
Yup, no programming for that ;D
Howdy

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Motors - Servos or DC?
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2009, 05:39:02 AM »
Thats what i thought just didn't want him to get the wrong thing.  :D

Offline CyclonedTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Motors - Servos or DC?
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2009, 06:13:53 AM »
Haha thanks so much guys  :D  :D  :D  :D

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list